Aim high

Is it not profound that two people born of the same parents in the same household, taught in the same school and by pretty much the same teachers can turn out to be so different. Words carry a deep meaning and if and when said the wrong way can be a weapon that destroys in a very devastating way.

I made the discovery that when you grow up with negativity, your world becomes limited to what the expectations of other people is for you. Many dreams are limited, not because the people cannot dream but because the dreamers were given ceilings and could never dream past that ceiling. It is not that dreams are small, it s that dreamers are timid and that limits their capacity to dream fully.

When I was in primary school one of the most respected teachers who so happened to be my teacher called me a monkey, he said that I would never amount to anything and that he did not think much of me. All that was said because I had missed his class playing in the school grounds. Now remember this, I was a child, a young boy who had nothing but fun to look forward to in every place I was even school. He unloaded such verbal horror on me with no repentance, he was not in the mood to make me feel like a human being. Missing his class became the capital sin of the school.

Everytime I wanted to picture my future I saw my teacher and could recall word for word his rough words to me. I slowly reduced my own expectations and aimed as low as possible because of my fear not achieving as was cursed by my teacher. It did not help that any other harsh words which came with no filter from my so many corners and people became the nails in my coffin. Each time someone said that I was no good it became more real than the car I drive. I was reduced to thinking that my life is not worth much and I could never achieve anything.

Today let me shock you, what people say about you is only as true as the thought you place on it and how much you believe it to be. You can achieve anything you plan to so aim high. Do not settle on what people say and do not let your lines be drawn by people who think they know you best than you know yourself. Never set your life’s agenda based on what people say, let your bar be as high as you want it to be.

Set the bar you want, chase after it till you hit it then set it again and again and again.

Comments
2 Responses to “Aim high”
  1. Superb, what a webpage it is! This webpage gives useful data to us,
    keep it up.

    Like

  2. Wow, amazing blog format! How lengthy have you ever been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The entire glance of your website is magnificent, as well
    as the content material!

    Like

Leave a Reply

  • Archived blogs

Breakthrough Is Imminent

Your Breakthrough tip of the week

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

