Don’t argue, gain altitude

A few days ago I travelled for a conference, it was a good day trip. Normally I fly a day before the conference, sleep over and then travel to the meeting from my hotel however this trip I decided to sleep over and fly early morning for the conference.

A few hours before midnight
the day before my flight I received an email from the airline, my flight was moved from 6am to 8am which meant I would not be in the meeting before 10am as I intended. Natural reaction was to call and shout at the the person on the other end of the phone and argue with them over options. It took me a few seconds to think over my options, I called the airline and I could hear other agents going at it with other passengers on the phone, I decided not to shout or argue but hear out my options and have a civilized discussion with the agent.

I was offered a flight from an airport on the other side of town, that was unacceptable so I declined. I asked if I could get a flight on a different airline and if she could keep my return flight with her airline, not only was she shocked I was so understanding, she gave me a better seat and refunded my ticket.

Arguments cause tension, you create a hostile environment which give ground to score keeping and ruthless tactics. Gaining altitude means that you rise above the issue and a seek a solution, you seek to bring a happy conclusion to the issue with an understanding that what may be happening is beyond your control but can be made a little better.

When you have the higher ground you see things better, you can ignore unnecessary headaches and avoid wasting time on petty things that do not advance your cause. There is an African saying which goes “never argue with a fool because people may never know the difference”. Arguments reduce your stature, they cloud the judgement of those looking, they diminish you in do many ways. Always seek peace rather than arguments, seek to be the one who finds a solution. Confrontation is easy, anyone can confront, only people of character can solve problems.

Gain altitude not an attitude

Comments
3 Responses to “Don’t argue, gain altitude”
  1. Hi there, I log on to your blogs like every week.
    Your writing style is awesome, keep up the good work!

    Like

  2. Hi would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re working
    with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different web
    browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you recommend a good web hosting provider at a honest price?
    Kudos, I appreciate it!

    Like

  3. If some one needs expert view regarding running a blog afterward
    i recommend him/her to pay a visit this blog, Keep up the good work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

  • Archived blogs

Breakthrough Is Imminent

Your Breakthrough tip of the week

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

