Work satisfaction

I used to think that a rewarding job is one that pays a lot of money, that is the worst piece of information ever. Job satisfaction has very little to do with money and a lot to do with satisfaction and relevance on the job.

Growing up, my father worked three jobs, by day he was a driver, in the evening he was a gardener and a contractor. I always took time to go to some of his evening jobs and help him out, that is where I discovered that the guy was happiest doing manual labor than wearing a suit.

Later in his career he would be moved up from driver to assistant salesmen before becoming an assistant departmental leader. I have watched and seen that as he got up the ladder he became less and less happy as it was not what made him tick. It took little time for my father to start cleaning up in the store because he felt happiest doing some manual work, using his hands as he called it.

I asked dad what made him happy about manual labor than wearing a suit and having an office, “I cannot ask the people I lead to do what I cannot do and what I do not love to do myself” dad said. His was a mission to not only know every aspect of his company from cleaning the toilet to administrative work. Helping people, being a part of people and making a difference in people’s lives was all it was about, dad felt that a job that he did not feel like he was a part of the people was not a satisfying job for him.

What gives you the most satisfaction, why do you do what you do? If you want to be happy on the job, no matter what your job is, find what difference your job makes to you and the lives of others. Yes there is more to it but surely everything has a starting point this is the starting point to loving your job.

Comments
2 Responses to “Work satisfaction”
  1. Caroline says:

    I like what you guys are up too. This type of clever work and exposure! Keep up the very good works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my own blogroll.

    Like

Leave a Reply

  • Archived blogs

Breakthrough Is Imminent

Your Breakthrough tip of the week

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

